Federal Voting Assistance Program encourages Airmen to mail in voter registration, absentee ballots before end of January

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Trevor Gordnier
  • 39th Air Base Wing

The 2020 election season is approaching, and although Incirlik Airmen may be away from their home state, they still have the ability to submit an absentee ballot.

Master Sgt. Keith Corcoran, the 39th Air Base Wing’s installation voting assistance officer, assures registration is a simple process.

“Registration is easy -- you can do it from your work computer, personal computer or on the customer computers here in the Airman & Family Readiness Center,” explained Corcoran. “Follow the instructions based off your state, print out your registration and send it through the mail.”

A myPers email states that all military members, as well as U.S. citizens overseas, are heavily encouraged to send in a Federal Post Card Application this month to ensure receipt of absentee ballots for all federal office elections in 2020.

To register and request a ballot, simply fill out the Federal Post Card Application using the Federal Voting Assistance Program’s online assistant at this link: [https://www.fvap.gov/r3/fpca/state].  Additionally, Airmen can fill out their information on a PDF at this link: [https://www.fvap.gov/uploads/FVAP/Forms/fpca.pdf]. There are hard-copies available at the Airman & Family Readiness Center located on the second floor of building 833.

The following states have elections in the next 90 days:

P – Indicates Presidential Primary             S – Indicates State Primary

February 11: New Hampshire (P)

February 29: South Carolina (P-Democratic Only)

March 3: Alabama (P, S); Arkansas (P, S); California (P); Colorado (P); Maine (P); Massachusetts (P); Minnesota (P); North Carolina (P, S); Oklahoma (P); Tennessee (P); Texas (P, S), Utah (P); Vermont (P); Virginia (P)

March 10: Idaho (P); Mississippi (P, S); Michigan (P); Missouri (P); Washington (P)

March 17: Arizona (P); Florida (P); Illinois (P, S); Ohio (P, S)

March 24: Georgia (P)

March 29: Puerto Rico (P-Democratic Only)

March 31: Alabama (State Runoff); Arkansas (State Runoff); Mississippi (State Runoff)

April 4: Louisiana (P)

April 7: Wisconsin (P)

April 28: Connecticut (P); Delaware (P); Maryland (P, S); New York (P); Pennsylvania (P, S); Rhode Island (P)